Hoisin Sauce jar all done

My passion for mason jars and the million uses they have is well known. So I use one of them to make this 5 Minutes Homemade Hoisin sauce. So easily and quick that it’ll surprise you. And it is Gluten-Free!

Most recipes to make hoisin sauce at home, involve a little cooking in a saucepan. My recipe doesn’t. We could call it the Lazy Homemade Hoisin sauce I suppose.

It cooks in 5 minutes when you pour it over your food or, if you want to use it as a dipping sauce, then heat it up and will be done in a minute.

In fact, this method is great as well if you want to prepare the day before and have it ready in the fridge. And certainly perfect to use as a marinade.

Hoisin Sauce bird view

What is Hoisin Sauce made of?

Hoisin sauce is a popular Chinese condiment. It is a thick sauce, sweet and savory. It is made originally from a mixture of fermented soybeans, vinegar, sugar, garlic, and various spices and seasonings.

Some hoisin sauce also contains red chili pepper or other ingredients that give it a spicy kick. It is also a key ingredient in many other Chinese dishes, such as stir-fries and noodle dishes.

You can use Hoisin sauce as a marinade too. With meats like pork, beef, and chicken, as it adds a rich flavor to the meat. And it will help to tenderize it.

How To Make Hoisin Sauce in a Jar

You can use any container that is nicely sealed and preferably glass. Mason jars are perfect for this.

Hoisin Sauce Ingredients

The ingredients are:

  • 3/4 cup Soy Sauce (Gluten-Free option)
  • 1/3 cup Peanut Butter
  • 1 Tbsp Honey
  • 4 Tsp Organic Apple cider Vinegar
  • 4 Tsp Toasted Sesame Oil
  • 1/4 Tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1/8 Tsp Grounded Black pepper

Instructions:

In the version you can see in the video below, I have not used Gluten-Free Soy sauce. To make it GF, just get this version from the store. It is easily available.

Get all your ingredients into the jar and shake it baby!

Hoisin Sauce Ingredients prepared

Can you find Gluten Free Hoisin Sauce at the Store?

Yes, it is possible to find gluten-free hoisin sauce at the store. However, is not easy as not all brands are gluten-free. Read the label carefully.

Some brands of hoisin sauce that are specifically labeled as gluten-free include Lee Kum Kee, Kikkoman, and Annie Chun’s. These brands can typically be found at major grocery stores or specialty health food stores.

It is also possible to make your own gluten-free hoisin sauce at home using gluten-free ingredients. That’s what I do!

Is Hoisin Sauce Healthy?

It depends on how you use it. Store bought Hoisin sauce is high in sugar and calories, so you must consume it in moderation as part of a balanced diet.

In addition, it is important to read the label. Some hoisin sauces may contain preservatives, artificial colors and flavors, and other additives that can be harmful if consumed in large amounts.

That’s why Homemade cooking is always the way to go. You can substitute sugar with honey, unrefined cane sugar or any other healthy alternative. As well as avoid any unnecessary preservatives.

How I use Hoisin Sauce

One of my healthiest recipes in here is possibly my Copycat PF’s Changs Lettuce Wraps. I make this sauce for those too.

Also use it when cooking Pork Ribs or Crispy Chicken in the Airfryer (love it!).

More Homemade recipes: Apple Butter

How to make apple butter
How to make apple butter

Similar Posts